Welcome to the "117th Western Amateur Championship" Event Portal


This website will contain both information for players in the field and those following along at home. 


The Western Amateur has been a prestigious national tournament since its founding in 1899. Many of the great names in golf have etched their names on the George R. Thorne Trophy, but many more were unable to conquer the grueling test.


Each year, 156 invited players come from across the globe to play one of the toughest formats in amateur golf. The field will play 18 holes of individual stroke play on Tuesday and Wednesday, after which it is cut to the low 44 scores and ties. The remaining players will play 36 holes of individual stroke play on Thursday to determine the low 16 finishers. The “Sweet Sixteen” will compete in Match Play on Friday and Saturday to decide the champion.


Since it opened in 1958, “The Point” has been regarded as one of the finest and most challenging tests of golf in America. Point O’ Woods was first awarded the Western Amateur in 1963, and it was home to the championship from 1971 through 2008. Some of the best players in the history of golf competed in the Western Amateur at The Point, including Tom Weiskopf, Andy North, Ben Crenshaw, Curtis Strange, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler, Adam Scott and more.




Designed by Robert Trent Jones, Point O’ Woods provides a challenging, but fair, test to players of every caliber. Measuring over 7,000 yards from the championship tees, this par-72 layout will force players to be accurate and use every club in their bags.


Thank you for visiting, and best wishes to our participants!



Have a smartphone? Download the Golf Genius app for iPhone, iPad and Android for live scoring and leaderboards!